Kalamazoo Info‎ > ‎

Local Dining

Would you like to write dining reviews for the site?  Compose a brief review that includes the following key points:

Where is it?  Was the staff educated about celiac/gluten intolerance?  Did they have a separate menu for gluten-free, or an allergen specific menu?  How was the food?  How much did it cost?  Were there a lot of options? 

Submit your review to Caroline, and we'll post it on the site.  Submissions may be edited for clarity and content.  Reviews are the opinion of the author and do not reflect the views of Kalamazoo Area Celiac Support.

Applebees (Kalamazoo)

posted Feb 5, 2013, 5:54 PM by Kalamazoo Celiac Support   [ updated Feb 5, 2013, 5:54 PM ]

This review was submitted by Ginny:

I visited the Applebee's store on Westnedge at a time it was not busy, and I asked to see the gluten free menu. When it came I noticed that it had " french fries " on the menu, so I asked if they had a dedicated frier. At that point the greeter called a manager who indicated that they did not have a dedicated frier. I told her that including french fries on the menu without a dedicated frier made me doubt if they really understood and were committed to offering 
gluten free foods so I would not be comfortable eating there- even tho I was really hoping that they would be offering safe, gluten-free foods because Applebees used to be one of my favorite places to eat and there is one very near my home. She indicated that the menu came from corporate offices and she understood my concern. (I got the feeling that there was nothing she could do about it.) I thought it was important to share this with our gf support group.

Martell's (Kalamazoo)

posted Feb 7, 2011, 7:12 PM by Annette Hensley   [ updated Feb 7, 2011, 7:14 PM by Kalamazoo Celiac Support ]

Martell’s, formally known as the Black Swan, is part of the Millennium Restaurant Group and is located just off Parkview in Kalamazoo, MI. We had our quarterly outing here in January and were impressed with the food and service. The wait staff and chef were extremely pleasant and most importantly very knowledgeable in regards to both gluten and dairy allergies. They have a wide variety of items listed on their Gluten-Free menu and were very accommodating with other food allergies as well. The atmosphere of the restaurant is sophisticated but casual attire and families are perfectly acceptable. For more information on pricing, menu items and location please visit their website http://www.millenniumrestaurants.com/blackswan.php.

Noodles & Co. (Westnedge)

posted Jun 14, 2010, 11:26 AM by Marion Koleski   [ updated Jun 14, 2010, 11:31 AM by Kalamazoo Celiac Support ]

Noodles & Co. is on Westnedge.  I think they have another location on West Main.  When you order, you can ask for your meal to be flagged with an "allergy alert", which they enter right on the terminal.  This triggers the cooks to use safe practices in preparation.  Most items can be made with the rice noodles, and they have a guide under the counter that will tell you what items are safe, so just ask!  My favorite:  pad thai with shrimp.

Prices are under 30 for two.

Fieldstone Grill (Moorsbridge Plaza)

posted Jun 14, 2010, 11:22 AM by Marion Koleski   [ updated Jun 14, 2010, 11:32 AM by Kalamazoo Celiac Support ]

Fieldstone is owned by the same group as Martell's.  There is indoor and outdoor seating.  They do not offer a separate gluten-free menu, but several items can be prepared gluten free.  There is a flourless torte on the dessert menu - chocolate with raspberry sauce, same as at Martell's.  Our waitress was knowledgable, and mentioned her friend has celiac, so I wasn't clear if she was good because of the training they offer at the restaurant or because of her personal interactions with her friend.

Typical casual dining prices, 30-50 for dinner for two.  

Erbelli's (Kalamazoo and Portage)

posted Jun 5, 2010, 9:10 PM by Marion Koleski   [ updated Jun 5, 2010, 9:12 PM by Kalamazoo Celiac Support ]

Erbelli's offers a gluten free crust that is made of egg and parmesan cheese.  If you like these flavors you may like it, personally it didn't really do much for me, but I don't like parmesan.  They do seem conscious of cross-contamination concerns, though!

Outback (Portage)

posted Jun 5, 2010, 9:01 PM by Marion Koleski   [ updated Jun 5, 2010, 9:04 PM by Kalamazoo Celiac Support ]

Outback offers a separate gluten-free menu.  The owner, Chris, knows a lot about gluten, but make sure you quiz your server, as some know a lot about it and some don't.  They stock Red Bridge beer, which is safe.  They experimented for a few months with having a gluten free fryer, but that is on hiatus for now.  Cost is typical of casual dining - $30-50 for a couple.

1-6 of 6