How Does the FDA Define "Gluten-Free"

How Does FDA Define 'Gluten-Free'?

In addition to limiting the unavoidable presence of gluten to less than 20 ppm, FDA will allow manufacturers to label a food "gluten-free" if the food does not contain any of the following:

  1. an ingredient that is any type of wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of these grains
  2. an ingredient derived from these grains and that has not been processed to remove gluten
  3. an ingredient derived from these grains and that has been processed to remove gluten, if it results in the food containing 20 or more parts per million (ppm) gluten

Foods such as bottled spring water, fruits and vegetables, and eggs can also be labeled "gluten-free" if they inherently don't have any gluten.

The regulation will be published Aug. 5, 2013 in the Federal Register, and manufacturers have one year from the publication date to bring their labels into compliance. Taylor says he believes many foods labeled "gluten free" may be able to meet the new federal definition already. However, he adds, "We encourage the food industry to come into compliance with the rule as soon as possible."

Under the new rule, a food label that bears the claim "gluten-free," as well as the claims "free of gluten," "without gluten," and "no gluten," but fails to meet the requirements of the rule would be considered misbranded and subject to regulatory action by FDA.

Those who need to know with certainty that a food is gluten-free are heralding the arrival of this definition. "This is a huge victory for people with celiac disease," says Levario. "In fact, that's the understatement of the year."

Says Taylor, "FDA's 'gluten-free' definition will help people make food choices with confidence."

This article appears on FDA's Consumer Updates page, which features the latest on all FDA-regulated products.

August 2, 2013


Source: http://www.fda.gov/forconsumers/consumerupdates/ucm363069.htm#gluten-free 


Things to remember:

  • The FDA does not require companies to test their products. They do need to meet the requirements so that if the FDA were to test their products, they would meet the requirements.
  • The FDA does not require disclosure of barley, rye, or oats. 
  • This only affects companies that want to state "gluten-free" (or comparable terminology) on the label of their products. 
Comments